Daily Prompt: Praise

via Daily Prompt: Praise

When I saw the daily prompt was Praise my first thought was “Wonder what Bible verse I can share?”  There are a ton I could have used. This is one of my favorites.

Psalm 150

Praise the Lord

Hallelujah!
Praise God in His sanctuary.
Praise Him in His mighty heavens.
Praise Him for His powerful acts;
praise Him for His abundant greatness.

Praise Him with trumpet blast;
praise Him with harp and lyre.
Praise Him with tambourine and dance;
praise Him with flute and strings.
Praise Him with resounding cymbals;
praise Him with clashing cymbals.

Let everything that breathes praise the Lord.
Hallelujah!

Then I started thinking.  I praise God in church and when good things happen in life but do I praise Him when things aren’t going the way I would want them to? When everything in the house seems to be falling apart at once?  When your kids look at you like you’ve grown two heads and to ask them to pick up toys is akin to cruel and unusual punishment?  Or when you find out your scans show cancer?

Even Job, during and after losing all his family, livestock and possessions, he still praised God.

Job 1:20-21

20 Then Job stood up, tore his robe, and shaved his head.[a] He fell to the ground and worshiped, 21 saying:

Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
and naked I will leave this life.[b]
The Lord gives, and the Lord takes away.
Praise the name of Yahweh.

After Job worshiped and praised God, God restored all Job had lost.  I need to remember to praise God in all that I do and in every situation I find myself.  Not because I want to be blessed, but because God, by His grace, sent his Son to die for me while I was yet a sinner. And as a child of the one true King, life as we know it isn’t what we’re living for.  As children of God we live to worship & praise God.  He is holy and worthy of my praise not only in the good times, but also in the midst of the trials of life.

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Praise

Leave a Reply

