Wanderlust: Shanghai

Wanderlust is defined as a German word for the irresistibly strong desire to travel or wander.   If you look it up in the dictionary you would find a picture of me beside the word. If I could (and as long as I could take my husband with me) I would travel all the time.  Since we still work full-time and unless we win the lottery, that’s not possible right now.  (Unless of course, someone would like to pay me to travel in which case, sign me up!)  My top destinations used to be Australia/New Zealand and the British Isles (we are Scottish after all), but after reading  Street of Eternal Happiness: Big City Dreams Along a Shanghai Road, by Rob Schmitz, I’ve added Shanghai to the list.book cover

In his book he paints such a vivid picture of ordinary people trying to live through the adversity and political climate changes that have plagued China for years. It’s a great read and makes one realize that regardless of where someone lives, or their background, everyone has hopes and dreams for a better future for themselves and their children.

Shanghai means “Upon-the-Sea” making the area a soughtafter location for centuries. Through the years they’ve been occupied by imperial dynasties and several different countries, but it is now one of the wealthiest cities in Asia with a vibrant night life and financial district.

I would love to take a walking tour of the ancient city or a boat ride along the Huangpu River.  I want to see the plane trees along the Street of Eternal Happiness. I want to visit  CK’s cafe or buy flowers from Ms. Zhao.  Eat among the locals and see the city skyline atop the World Financial Center.

If you have been or get a chance to go, let me know your favorite places to visit and food to eat. Maybe one day we’ll get there but for now, my wanderlust will sustain me and keep the travel bug alive.

One thought on “Wanderlust: Shanghai

Leave a Reply

